Home Public AffairsPolicy Honoring those who support First Amendment rights

Honoring those who support First Amendment rights


The Hugh M. Hefner First Amendment Awards, founded in 1979, honor those who breathe life into these freedoms, and often go above and beyond to support First Amendment rights, which is especially important today. We’re thrilled to honor our 2018 awardees:

• Lifetime Achievement Award: Joan Bertin, former executive director of the National Coalition Against Censorship;

• Arts & Entertainment Award: Simon Tam, leader of the Asian-American rock band, The Slants;

• Book Publishing Award: Laura Kipnis, author, “Unwanted Advances: Sexual Paranoia Comes to Campus;”

• Education Award: Allison Stanger, professor of International Politics and Economics, Middlebury College;

• Journalism Award: Jamie Kalven, independent journalist.

Christie Hefner, Chairman of the Hugh M. Hefner First Amendment Awards

You may also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

The Washington DC 100